Gluten free diet
People suffering from gluten intolerance are sensitive to the
gluten, a protein found commonly in wheat, barley, rye and oats. One of the best ways to relieve the discomfort of
gluten intolerance is to eliminate food product that contain gluten from our diet.
Gluten free diet is not only recommended for people
who have gluten sensitivity, it is also used as a form of treatment of
Grains that contains gluten are used in the preparation of many foods. It is often hard to tell by an
ingredient's name what may be in it, so it is easy to eat gluten without even knowing it. However, staying on a
strict gluten-free diet can dramatically improve the gluten intolerance condition. It is a diet that is completely
free of ingredients derived from food that contain gluten. Grains that contain gluten includes certain type of
cereal, wheat including kamut and spelt,semolina, barley and rye. Gluten free diet may not exclude oats though
it's not proven if oats could contribute to symptoms of gluten intolerance. However, It is known that there
is a possibility of oats being contaminated with wheat in production. Hence if you should feel unwell
after eating oats; it would be advisable to discontinue.
One of the main culprit for gluten is wheat, a staple food product consumed by the masses. Foods made from
wheat includes bread, pastas, pastry, cakes and biscuits. Wheat is also used as a thickener in many food
products such as gravy, custard, sauces and soups. Alcoholic beverages like beers and most form of whiskey are made
from wheat or malted barley and will contain gluten.
Going on a gluten free diet means avoiding foods or food ingredients made from the
- Graham flour
- Spelt flour
There are gluten free grains such as Amaranth, Buckwheat and Quinoa but they can sometimes be contaminated
by grains that contained gluten when in production. It is important to verify if there is a possiblity of
contamination in the production of gluten free grains. One way of verification is to read the food
label or buy gluten free food made solely by gluten free food specialist.
Following a gluten free diet doesn't mean that you can no longer enjoy bread or pasta. Nowadays
there is an increasing number of gluten free bread and gluten free pasta made from corn, rice flour and potato
flour. You can even buy gluten free biscuits, gluten free cakes, gluten free gravy and other gluten free food from
health shop, specialty shop and major supermarket. Combined gluten free substitutes with foods that do not contain
gluten will ensure that your diet is nutritionally adequate.
There are many basic and nutritious foods that are allowed in a gluten free diet. These are:
Fresh meats, fish and poultry (must not be breaded, batter-coated or marinated)
Most dairy products
Gluten free flours such as rice, soy, corn and potato.
Wine and distilled liquors, ciders and spirits
There are Gluten Free Guide available that will show you how to manage gluten intolerance
and how to cook delicious gluten free dishes. I have tried making gluten free bread using the recipes in these
gluten free cook book and the results was as good as normal wheat bread. There are many foods that do not
contain gluten. Make it your personal adventure to make gluten free dishes and perhaps one day you could be
sharing your own gluten free recipes to people with gluten intolerance.